Processing and distribution

Number of companies Turnover Number of jobs
Wholesale fish trade (2011) 306 €1.9b 4,584
Processing (2013) 302 €4.2b 17,326
Fish monger (2017) 3,808 €1.06b 9,702

Source: FranceAgriMer, 2017

The wholesale fish merchant profession, traditionally the first link in the fresh seafood commercialisation chain, involves retailing seafood either in its natural state or after initial processing (filleting) to fishmonger stockists and high volume retailers. For the past few years, the wholesale fish trade has been undergoing a concentration phase. Large companies have been buying smaller companies as part of an external growth strategy, thereby creating large wholesale fish trading groups.

The fishery resource industry specialises in seafood and encompasses a wide variety of professions. These include soup and pâté producers, crustacean cookers, surimi and breaded fish producers, fish smokers and more. Those trades involve applying a second processing method to the product, in addition to filleting. Processed or prepared seafood caters well to what consumers’ current demands, which are increasingly focused on practical products (see the chapter on consumption). Companies can draw on competitiveness clusters such as Valorial and Aquimer to co-develop innovations.

Specialist stockists, meaning traditional fishmongers, saw their numbers drop significantly between 1995 and 2010. However, this haemorrhage seems to have been stemmed as their numbers have stabilised since 2012. Despite this, the percentage represented by traditional fishmongers (fixed location and mobile) remains low and slowly dropping, with only 17% of commercialised volumes in 2016 (compared to 21% in 2010). High volume retail represents 75% of seafood volumes sold in 2016 (stable compared to 2010).

Current topics in the news are:

  • Concentration of wholesale fish merchant companies
  • Research into innovations to better meet the consumers’ demands
  • Increase in market share of hard discount and online sales (drive-through)
  • Will refresh be a solution for spreading out prices and reducing logistics pressure?

Transformation et distribution

Nombre d’entreprises Chiffre d’affaires Nombre d’emplois
Mareyage (2011) 306 1,9Mrd€ 4 584
Transformation (2013) 302 4,2Mrd€ 17 326
Poissonnerie (2017) 3808 1,06Mrd€ 9702

Source : FranceAgriMer 2017

Le métier du mareyage, traditionnellement le premier maillon de la commercialisation des produits de la mer frais, consiste en la distribution de produits de la mer, avec ou sans première transformation (filetage), auprès des distributeurs poissonniers ou grande distribution. Le mareyage est entré depuis plusieurs années dans une dynamique de concentration. Ainsi, de grosses entreprises rachètent des plus petites pour se développer par croissance externe, créant ainsi de grands groupes de mareyage.

L’industrie halio-alimentaire, spécialisée dans les produits de la mer est très variée. On peut citer les producteurs de soupes et terrines, les cuiseurs de crustacés, les producteurs de surimi ou de poissons panés, les fumeurs de poissons… Ces métiers consistent en la réalisation d’une seconde transformation appliquée au produit, au-delà du filetage. Les produits transformés ou traiteurs de la mer répondent bien aux nouvelles demandes des consommateurs, de plus en plus axés vers des produits pratiques (cf. chapitre consommation). Les entreprises peuvent s’appuyer sur des pôles de compétitivité comme Valorial ou le pôle Aquimer pour des co-développements d’innovations.

Les distributeurs spécialisés que sont les poissonniers traditionnels ont vu leur nombre fortement diminuer entre 1995 et 2010. Cette hémorragie semble cependant être actuellement jugulée avec une stabilisation de leur nombre depuis 2012. La part de marché de la poissonnerie traditionnelle (sédentaire et non sédentaire) reste cependant faible et en érosion avec seulement 17% des volumes commercialisés en 2016 (contre 21% en 2010). La grande distribution représente quant à elle 75% des volumes des produits aquatiques commercialisés en 2016 (stable par rapport à 2010).

Les principales thématiques d’actualité sont :

  • La concentration des acteurs du mareyage
  • La recherche d’innovation pour répondre au mieux aux demandes des consommateurs
  • L’augmentation des parts de marché du hard discount et des ventes par internet (drive)
  • Le refresh serait-il une solution pour lisser les prix et diminuer la pression logistique ?