Global aquaculture and fishery resource production

Global seafood production has grown steadily since the mid-20th century. However, fishery catches have stagnated since the 1990s, when the production ceiling was reached at about 90 million tonnes. In contrast, aquaculture production has experienced constant growth. In 2014, the fishery catch production for human consumption equalled that of aquaculture. Aquaculture subsequently surpassed fisheries and is expected to reach 57% of total global volume in 2025, according to the FAO. Some 56 million people worked in the fisheries and aquaculture industry in 2014 and there were 4.6 million fishing vessels, 75% of which flew an Asian flag.

Source FAO 2016: State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture

Fisheries

The pressure on wild stocks may lead to this natural resource being overfished. And at a global level, the proportion of overfished stocks has risen from 10% in 1975 to 30% in 2014. Looking at European fish stocks, the recent trend has been the reverse, following the management measures in the Common Fisheries Policy (CFP) which has reduced fishery capacity through fleet decommissioning and catch restriction schemes. In fact, the number of overfished stocks in terms of the maximum sustainable yield (MSY) rose from 2 to 39 between 2005 and 2015, representing almost 60% of European fish stocks. At the same time, the number of vessels in mainland France dropped from 5,350 to 4,200 and the landed catch dropped from 600,000 to 450,000 tonnes.

Source FranceAgriMer 2017: The Fisheries and Aquaculture Industry in France

 

Under the European management framework, fish stocks are assessed annually by the International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) and the Scientific, Technical and Economic Committee for Fisheries (STECF). Using the available data, scientists issue their advice on the European-scale catch options for the following year, species by species and zone by zone. Their advice is then debated within the European Commission to determine the TACs (total allowable catches). The TACs are distributed to the various European countries according to the relative stability key. Those countries then distribute their national quota (giving them production rights) to their producers’ organisations. Part of the national quota is reserved for fishermen who are not affiliated with a producer organisation. In France the government manages the quota, however in most other European countries an individual transferable quota (ITQ) management system has been developed where fishermen own their production rights. Not all stocks are managed at a European level, as many coastal species are managed nationally or regionally.

The main European producers are Spain, France, Italy and the United Kingdom.

Source EUMOFA 2016: The EU Fish Market

French fisheries are quite varied and can be categorised according to their catch method (towed/trawl gear and passive/static gear) and/or their method of vessel operation (industrial fishing, deep sea, coastal). To better understand the different fishing types, visit this website: Ifremer.

Current topics in the news are:

–        Brexit: Closing British waters to European vessels could have significant repercussions for the Brittany and Normandy deep sea fishing fleet which often works in those waters.

–        Fleet renewal: Ageing vessels (average age of 26 years) struggle to get replaced, despite a favourable situation since 2015 with higher initial sale prices for fish and relatively low fuel prices.

–        Vessels of the future: There are many studies currently under way to design the fishing vessels of tomorrow in order to achieve lower fuel consumption, better selectivity, greater onboard comfort for the crew, and greater catch value maximisation.

–        Lack of labour: Despite attractive wages, there are few young sailors starting in the fishing profession. This means that ship owners sometimes have to engage foreign labour to compensate for that lack.

Aquaculture

Global aquaculture is dominated by Asia, which represents nearly 90% of aquatic animal production. Production is highly diversified and involves fish, algae, molluscs and crustaceans. Aquaculture accounted for 55% of production in Asia in 2014, yet it only accounted for 18% in Europe. The main European Union producers by value are the United Kingdom, France, Greece, Spain and Italy. Bivalve molluscs (mussels, oysters and clams) figure dominantly in Spain, France and Italy. The United Kingdom primarily produces salmon, while Greece mostly produces bass and sea bream. Norway is the global leader in salmon production.

Source FAO 2016: State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture

Value of aquaculture production in 2014 (Source EUMOFA 2016: The EU Fish Market)

Farming methods are completely different from one species group to another. Fish are farmed on land in closed ponds or in the sea in cages, which require input (food). Shellfish are farmed at sea in an open space (on the ground, in pockets, on wires, on pilings, etc.) and are completely dependent on trophic input from the natural environment.

Given the increase in aquaculture production and the limit reached in farming feed fish (for processing into oil and fish meal), aquaculture feed is increasingly becoming plant-based. In fact, the portion of protein from wild fish in the feed is decreasing as it is being partially replaced by plant ingredients and, since 2017, insect meal. Another avenue of food sector research is focusing on boosting the feed conversion ratio. This coefficient expresses the quantity of feed required to produce 1kg of fish. For instance, the coefficient for salmon has dropped from 4 in the1960s (before extruded feed arrived) to 2.45 in 1985 and 1.1 in 2007 (Agreste, 2011).

Source FAO 2016: State of World Fisheries and Aquaculture

France has world-renowned expertise in new and marine aquaculture, namely in producing juvenile saltwater fish, but has not been able to significantly grow this sector despite proactive European policies. Growth is primarily hindered by conflicts of use as well as coastal property access that is complex and costly. A large portion of the juveniles produced in France are therefore transferred to other countries (namely Greece) for the fattening phase, with the added bonus of cheaper labour costs.

French and European oyster farming has been experiencing a major production crisis since 2000. An infectious herpes virus (OsHV-1) causes mortality amongst the juveniles and results in stock deterioration during the first year of farming. Since 2008 a variant of that herpes virus, combined with the presence of a bacteria (vibrio), has also affected adult fish. The reasons for this animal health crisis have not yet been fully explained.

Evolution of French oyster production (left) and mussel production (right) (source FAO Stats 2017)

Current topics in the news are:

–        Integrated multi-trophic aquaculture: Polyculture system combining various species or species groups to create farming synergies. Waste from one species is used as a resource by another (e.g. fish, shellfish and algae).

–        Aquaponics and aquaculture in peri-urban areas: Growing trend where aquaculture and plant productions can be paired up. Fish waste is used as a nutrient source for the plants. This system of water recirculation can be established in urban and peri-urban areas, as close as possible to consumption centres.

–        Insects and micro-algae as protein sources: Incorporating insect meal has been authorised for aquaculture feed since July 2017. Many companies are experiencing growth in this market (Entomo FarmYnsectMicronutris, etc.).

Productions halieutiques et aquacoles

La production mondiale de produits aquatiques augmente de manière constante depuis le milieu du XXe siècle. Les captures par pêche stagnent depuis les années 1990 avec un plafond de production aux alentours de 90 millions de tonnes alors que la production aquacole est quant à elle en croissance permanente. En 2014, la production par pêche à destination de l’alimentation humaine a été égale à celle de l’aquaculture. L’aquaculture devient donc majoritaire et devrait atteindre 57% des volumes mondiaux en 2025 selon la FAO. 56 millions de personnes travaillent dans le secteur de la pêche et de l’aquaculture en 2014, pour 4,6 millions de navires de pêche, dont 75% sous pavillon asiatique.

Source FAO 2017 : Situation mondiale des pêches et de l’aquaculture

Pêche

Cette pression sur les stocks sauvages peut entrainer une surexploitation de la ressource. Ainsi, au niveau mondial, la proportion de stocks surexploités est passée de 10% en 1975 à 30% en 2014. Concernant les stocks européens, la tendance récente est à l’inverse, suite aux mesures de gestion de la politique commune des pêches (PCP) diminuant les capacités de pêche par des plans de sortie de flotte et des restrictions de captures. En effet, le nombre de stocks exploités au rendement maximum durable (RMD) est passé de 2 à 39, entre 2005 et 2015, soit près de 60% des stocks européens.

Dans le cadre d’une gestion européenne, les stocks de poissons sont annuellement évalués par le  Conseil International pour l’Exploration de la Mer (CIEM) et le Comité Scientifique, Technique et Economique des Pêches (CSTEP). En fonction des données disponibles, les scientifiques émettent des  avis sur les possibilités de captures au niveau européen pour l’année suivante, espèce par espèce et zone par zone. Ces avis sont ensuite discutés au sein de la commission européenne pour déterminer les TAC (totaux admissibles de captures). Ces TAC sont ensuite répartis entre les différents pays européens en fonction de leurs antériorités de captures, puis transformés en quotas nationaux, constituant des droits à produire, distribués aux organisations de producteurs. Une part du quota national est réservée aux pêcheurs qui ne sont pas affiliés à une OP. Contrairement à la France où la gestion reste collective, la majorité des pays européens ont développé un système de gestion par quotas individuels transférables (QIT), où le pêcheur est propriétaire de son droit à produire. L’ensemble des stocks ne sont cependant pas gérés au niveau européen et de nombreuses espèces côtières sont gérées de manière nationale ou régionale.

Source IFREMER : Comment sont gérées les ressources 

Les principaux producteurs européens sont l’Espagne, la France, l’Italie et le Royaume-Uni

Les pêcheries françaises sont très variées et peuvent être catégorisées selon leur méthode de pêche (arts trainants, arts dormants) et/ou leur méthode d’exploitation du navire (pêche industrielle, hauturière, côtière). Pour mieux comprendre ces différents types de pêche, rendez-vous sur le site de l’IFREMER. 

Les principales thématiques d’actualité sont :

–        Le Brexit : la fermeture des eaux britanniques aux navires européens aurait des conséquences importantes sur la flottille de pêche hauturière bretonne et normande qui travaillent beaucoup dans ces eaux.

–        Le renouvellement de la flottille : les navires vieillissants (26 ans de moyenne d’âge) peinent à être renouvelés, malgré une conjoncture plutôt favorable depuis 2015 avec un prix élevé du poisson à la 1e vente et le prix du carburant relativement faible.

–        Le navire du futur : de nombreuses recherches sont en cours pour imaginer le(s) navire(s) de pêche de demain, avec pour objectif : une plus faible consommation de carburant, une meilleure sélectivité, un meilleur confort à bord pour l’équipage, une meilleure valorisation des captures.

–        Le déficit de main œuvre : malgré une rémunération attractive, les jeunes marins sont peu nombreux à embarquer dans le métier de la pêche. Les armateurs ont donc parfois recours à de la main d’œuvre étrangère pour compenser.

Aquaculture

L’aquaculture mondiale est dominée par l’Asie, représentant près de 90% de la production d’animaux aquatiques. Les productions sont très diversifiées et concernent aussi bien les poissons que les algues, les mollusques et les crustacés. Alors que la part des produits de l’aquaculture atteint 55% de la production en Asie, elle atteint seulement 18% en Europe en 2014. Les principaux producteurs de l’Union Européenne en valeur sont le Royaume-Uni, la France, la Grèce, l’Espagne et l’Italie. Les mollusques bivalves (moules, huîtres et palourdes) prédominent en Espagne, en France et en Italie. Le Royaume-Uni produit principalement du saumon, tandis que la Grèce produit surtout du bar et de la daurade. La Norvège est le premier producteur mondial de saumon.

Source FAO, 2017 : Situation mondiale des pêches et de l’aquaculture

Les modes d’élevages diffèrent complétement d’un groupe d’espèce à l’autre. Les poissons sont élevés à terre en bassins fermés ou en cages en mer nécessitant des intrants (aliments). Les coquillages, quant à eux, sont élevés en mer en milieu ouvert (sur le sol, dans des poches, sur filières, sur des bouchots…) et sont complètement dépendants des apports trophiques du milieu naturel.

Face à l’augmentation des productions aquacoles et à la limite atteinte de l’exploitation des poissons fourrages, destinés à la fabrication d’huiles et de farines de poissons, les aliments d’aquaculture sont de plus en plus « végétalisés ». En effet, la part des protéines issues de poissons sauvages au sein de l’aliment tend à diminuer, remplacée en partie par des éléments végétaux, et depuis 2017 par de la farine d’insectes. Un autre axe de recherche du secteur des aliments est l’augmentation de l’indice de conversion. Ce coefficient permet de connaitre la quantité d’aliment nécessaire pour produire 1kg de poisson. Par exemple pour le saumon, ce coefficient est passé de 4 dans les années 60 (avant l’apparition de l’aliment extrudé) à 2,45 en 1985 puis 1,1 en 2007 (Agreste, 2011).

Source FAO, 2017 : Situation mondiale des pêches et de l’aquaculture

La France possède un savoir-faire reconnu dans l’aquaculture marine et nouvelle, notamment dans la production de juvéniles de poissons marins, mais ne parvient pas à développer significativement ce secteur malgré les politiques européennes volontaristes. Ce développement est principalement freiné par des conflits d’usage et un accès au foncier littoral complexe et coûteux.

Les principales thématiques d’actualité sont :

–        L’aquaculture multi-trophique intégrée : système de polyculture associant différentes espèces ou groupes d’espèces permettant de créer des synergies dans l’élevage. Les rejets de certaines espèces sont utilisés comme ressources par d’autres (exemple : poisson, coquillages et algues).

–        L’aquaponie et l’aquaculture péri-urbaine : tendance en développement permettant de coupler une production aquacole et une production végétale. Les rejets des poissons étant utilisés comme source de nutriment des plantes. Ces systèmes de cultures en eau recirculée peuvent être intégrés dans des zones urbaines ou péri-urbaines, au plus près des centres de consommation.

–        Les insectes et micro-algues comme source de protéines : l’intégration de farines d’insectes a été autorisée dans les aliments aquacoles depuis juillet 2017. De nombreuses entreprises sont en période de croissance sur ce marché (Entomo Farm, Ynsect, Micronutris…)